Institute of American Indian Art - MFA Exhibition: Opening Reception May 12 from 4-6pm at 1509 Pacheco Street in Santa Fe, and then from 6-8pm at Container Santa Fe

12 - 21 May 2023
Quote from Mario A. Caro, PhD

Director, MFA in Studio Arts, Institute of American Indian Arts


"Beyond Mastery features work by the first graduating cohort of the new Master of Fine Arts in Studio Arts program at the Institute of American Indian Arts. The program focuses on exploring art production from an Indigenous perspective. This unique approach explicitly aims at Indigenizing graduate arts pedagogy. One aspect of these efforts has been to undo the hierarchical structures that have been established within Western academia. Given that the notion of gaining “mastery” is fundamental to the process of attaining this terminal degree, it has also been at the core of the program’s efforts to reconsider the curriculum from an Indigenous perspective. The work featured in the exhibition by this inaugural graduating class is the result of this kind of inquiry."


Quote from Tonya Turner Carroll:
"It is our pleasure to host the inaugural IAIA MFA exhibition at CONTAINER. IAIA has enriched our Santa Fe, national, and international art community by creating a unique program that respects each artist's cultural and aesthetic integrity. Some of the greatest artists of our time have taught within and emerged from the IAIA program, including Jaune Quick to See Smith, Fritz Scholder, Will Wilson, Raven Chacon, Marie Watt, Cannupa Hanska Luger, among others. We're thrilled to give the new generation of IAIA MFA artists the opportunity to interact with curators, collectors, and art critics in CONTAINER.  We hope this leads to private collectors and museums across the world collecting their works in years to come."

Turner Carroll Gallery and Container Santa Fe proudly presents the 2023 Institute of American Indian Art MFA exhibition featuring Madelynn Boyiddle-Schoel, Nika Feldman, Angélica M. García, Shane Hendren, Susanna Mireles-Mankus, Margarita Paz-Pedro, Dominick Porras, Carmen Selam, and Joseph Seymour, Jr.